While motor scooters may seem like a fun diversion, serious injury can occur in an accident involving these vehicles. In New Jersey, an individual must be at least 15 years old to ride a moped or similar scooter and must have a driver’s license, motorcycle license or moped license.
Learn about the state laws involving motor scooters and safety tips to remember if you decide to take a ride.
Definition of motor scooter
New Jersey law defines a motor scooter as a low-speed motorcycle. Bikes that fall into this category have a motor that produces less than 1.5 horsepower and has a maximum speed below 35 miles per hour. All motor scooters ridden in New Jersey must have valid registration and insurance coverage. Tricycle-style mopeds are illegal in the state.
Where to ride
State law prohibits motor scooters from traveling on:
- Roads with a speed limit higher than 35 mph
- Highways with limited access
- New Jersey toll roads
- Four-lane highways
In addition, riders cannot operate a motor scooter on public lands, such as on trails in a state or national park.
How to ride
Moped riders must stay as far to the right as possible and follow all traffic signals that pertain to other types of motor vehicles. Two motor scooters can travel abreast in the same lane where it is safe to do so but otherwise must ride single-file.
Drivers must have moped headlights on at all times and the bike must have a horn that others can hear from at least 100 feet away. Follow at least 2 seconds behind other vehicles on the road and never attach the moped to another motor vehicle.
Motor scooter riders must wear a helmet with approval from the Snell Memorial Foundation or the American National Standards Institute. Make sure the helmet fits correctly and has both a chinstrap and reflective tape on both sides.
Following New Jersey laws when operating a motor scooter can help moped riders avoid serious injury in an auto accident.